35 Facts: 1999 Daytona 500

Welcome to “35 Facts”! This is a new Series where we will point out 35 facts from a random race. Some of the facts will be things you know, while we hope some of the things you find interesting and new.

If you have any suggestions for a race you would like to see featured in a future “35 Facts” article, click the “Contact Us” link at the top of this page.

January 18, 2019

Seth and Sutton Sharp

1- Mark Martin won the Bud Shootout, which took place on the same day as qualifying for the Daytona 500.

2- Martin’s win in the exhibition race was his first win at Daytona.

3- Jeff Gordon sat on the pole with a qualifying speed of 195.067 MPH.

4- Rookie of the Year candidate Tony Stewart qualified second for what would be his first career Winston Cup start.

5- Stewart was driving the new No. 20 Home Depot Pontiac for Joe Gibbs, which expanded Gibbs to a two-car team for the first time.

6- Bobby Labonte won the first Gatorade Twin 125 qualifying race. He led the final 11 laps en-route to Victory Lane.

7- Dale Earnhardt won the second Gatorade Twin 125 qualifying race.

8- It was his Earnhardt’s tenth consecutive victory in a qualifying race at Daytona.

9- 16 drivers failed to qualify for The Great American Race: Morgan Shepherd, Buckshot Jones, Steve Grissom, Jim Sauter, Norm Benning, Dick Trickle, David Green, Jeff Green, Stanton Barrett, Andy Hillenburg, Gary Bradberry, Ken Bouchard, Mark Gibson, Glen Morgan, Dan Pardus and Billy Standridge.

10- Rookie Mike Harmon was originally behind the wheel of the No. 90 Big Daddy’s BBQ Ford for Junie Donlavey, but he was pulled from the car before the Twin 125 qualifying races. Mike Wallace put the No. 90 in the field for the 500, but with sponsorship from Accu-Turn/Kodiak.

11- The Daytona 500 helped kick off Donlavey’s 50th year in racing.

12- Nine of the 17 cars that failed to qualify for the race were numbered between 70-91.

13- Ten team owners had multiple cars qualify for the race. These owners included: Rick Hendrick, Richard Childress, Joe Gibbs, Roger Penske, Jack Roush, Felix Sabates, Travis Carter, Robert Yates, Richard Petty, and Andy Petree.

14- Dave Marcis (No. 72 Jim Sauter) and Bill Elliott (No. 13 Dick Trickle) saw one of their two team cars fail to qualify. Marcis (No. 71) and Elliott (No. 94) each put their own car in the field.

15- Stewart was the only driver who qualified inside the top-11 that did not have at least one career Winston Cup win on their resume.

16- Nine former Daytona 500 winners made the field. Gordon started first, Earnhardt fourth, Dale Jarrett eighth, Sterling Marlin 17th, Derrike Cope 20th, Geoffrey Bodine 30th, Ernie Irvan 31st, Bill Elliott 37th and Darrell Waltrip was 43rd.

17- Nine cars in the race had previously won the Daytona 500: The No. 24 for Rick Hendrick, No. 3 Richard Childress, No. 28 Robert Yates, No. 9 Harry Melling, No. 18 Joe Gibbs, No. 4 Larry McClure, No. 5 Rick Hendrick, No. 21 Wood Brothers, No. 43 Petty Enterprises.

18- John Andretti and Kenny Wallace started at the back of the field after going to a backup car. Ironically, the two finished 42nd and 43rd after engine problems.

19- The manufacturers breakdown consisted of 14 Chevrolets, 21 Fords and eight Pontiacs.

20- Green Bay Packers QB Brett Favre waved the green flag.

21- The caution flag came out four times during the race, highlighted by a multi-car accident on lap 136. This incident saw Jarrett roll his No. 88, as all drivers walked away unharmed.

22- Gordon led the final 11 laps and took the checkered flag for his second career Daytona 500 victory. His first win came in 1997.

23- Gordon became the first driver to win the race from the pole since Bill Elliott in 1987.

24- This was Gordon’s 11th win in the previous 19 Winston Cup races, dating back to the middle of the 1998 season.

25- The Daytona 500 was a “Winston No Bull 5” race, boosting Gordon’s race winnings to over $2 million.

26- Rusty Wallace, looking for his first Superspeedway victory, was leading the race before a late reset the field. Wallace and teammate Jeremy Mayfield stayed out, as most of the field came in for fresh tires and fuel. This decision turned out to be costly for the two, as Wallace came home eighth and Mayfield 20th.

27- Wallace led a race-high 104/200 laps.

28- Sophomore Kenny Irwin Jr finished third after starting 41st.

29- Irwin was the only non-Chevrolet to finish in the top-six

30- Kyle Petty (seventh) was the highest finishing Pontiac.

31- Gordon, Earnhardt, R. Wallace and Irvan were the only drivers to finish inside the top-20 that had won at least one Winston Cup race since the 1995 Miller Genuine Draft 500 at Dover. (6/4/95).

32- 28 of the 43 cars were running at the finish of the race

33- Only 15 cars finished on the lead lap.

34- Kenny Wallace took home $86,026, which was the lowest of the 43 starters.

35- Gordon left the event with a 10 point lead in the point standings over Earnhardt. Irwin, Skinner, M. Waltrip, R. Wallace, Schrader, Petty, Little and Mast rounded out the top-10.

Updated: January 18, 2019 — 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2016 Frontier Theme