On This Date: 1995 Miller Genuine Draft 500

June 4, 2018

Seth and Sutton Sharp


On this date in 1995, the Miller Genuine Draft 500 was held at Dover Downs International Speedway. It was the first race on the track’s new concrete surface.

  • Kyle Petty quickly worked his way up through the field after starting 37th, led 271 of 500 laps and picked up his 8th career Winston Cup victory, and first since June 13, 1993 at Pocono. The victory eventually ended up being the last of Petty’s Cup career. Petty needed oxygen in Victory Lane after battling an illness, further cementing his win as one of the grittiest in NASCAR history.
  • Barry Dodson, the crew-chief on the No. 42, lost his 16 year old daughter Tia and his 17 year old son in an automobile accident in 1994. This was his first victory since the accident.
  • Jeff Gordon and Ward Burton sat on the front-row for the race.
  • Jeff Gordon and Mark Martin were the only drivers to qualify in the top-15 that entered the event with more than five career Winston Cup victories. Seven drivers (Ward Burton, John Andretti, Ricky Craven, Joe Nemechek, Hut Stricklin, Michael Waltrip and Bobby Hamilton) had not yet visited Victory Lane in their Winston Cup career. Bobby Labonte picked up his first career victory the week before at Charlotte in the Coca-Cola 600.
  • Loy Allen Jr. and Doug French were the only two drivers to fail to qualify for the event, which featured 42 cars.
  • The first caution of the day came out on the third lap when close to 20 cars were involved in an accident, one which TNN’s Mike Joy referred to as a “parking lot”. Many of these cars returned to the race, but it ended the day for Dale Jarrett, Elton Sawyer, Bobby Hillin Jr. and John Andretti early.
  • Kyle Petty, Bobby Labonte, Ted Musgrave, Hut Stricklin and Dale Earnhardt were the only drivers to finish the race on the lead-lap.
  • Kyle Petty, Bobby Labonte, Dale Earnhardt, Jeff Gordon, Sterling Marlin and Rusty Wallace were the only drivers to finish in the top-30 at Dover and win a race in 1995. Five drivers who won a race that season finished between 31st and 40th.
  • Joe Gibbs, Jack Roush, Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick and Roger Penske are the only team-owners from the event that still currently own a team in 2018. Felix Sabates, owner of the race-winning No. 42 of Petty is currently a partner in Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • Derrike Cope, Joe Nemechek and Morgan Shepherd are the only drivers from the race to attempt either a Cup or XFINITY Series race in 2018.
Updated: June 4, 2018 — 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2016 Frontier Theme