On this Date: July 4th History at Daytona

Seth and Sutton Sharp

July 4, 2019


1- NASCAR first raced at Daytona on July 4th in 1959. The race featured 37 drivers and was won by Fireball Roberts. He won three of the first five races held on this date.

2- There have been 31 races held at Daytona on July 4th. The most recent race on this date came in 2009. The race was won by Tony Stewart.

3- The race was held on July 4th every year from 1959 to 1987. The annual race was then moved to the closest Saturday to July 4th on the calendar beginning in 1988. The race was held in the AM from 1959 to 1997. The 1998 race was scheduled to take place on July 4th but wildfires postponed the race until October. That race became the first superspeedway race to be held under the lights.

3- David Pearson has won on this date five times, the most out of all drivers. He won the race in 1961, 1972, 1973, 1974 and 1978.

4- Fireball Roberts, David Pearson, AJ Foyt, Cale Yarborough, LeeRoy Yarbrough, Richard Petty and Bobby Allison are the only drivers to win multiple races at Daytona on July 4th.

4- Between 1967 and 1984, Cale Yarborough, Richard Petty, Bobby Allison and Pearson combined to win 13 of the 18 races.

5- The last 10 winners of the race have all been different.



Updated: July 4, 2019 — 11:18 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2016 Frontier Theme